MLB Foundation

In 1869, the Cincinnati Red Stockings became America’s first Professional Baseball Team. This leads to the formation of top Professional League in Northern America, the Major League Baseball (MBL) controlled by the Major  League Baseball Constitution. What is remarkable is that the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players (NL)started to play in 1871 and was chosen as the first major league in the history of baseball. In 1876, the National League replaced the National Association. This is why this team is called the National League of Professional Baseball Association (NL). This great League is composed of 15 teams including the Cincinnati Red Stockings as the first team founded among the 15. The 15 teams  are:

Eastern Division- Atlanta Braves, Miami Marlins, New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies, Washington Nationals

Central Division- Chicago Cubs, Cincinnati Reds, Milwaukee Brewers, Pittsburgh Pirates, St, Louis Cardinals

Western Division- Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Los Angeles Dodgers, San Diego Padres, San Francisco Giants.

In 1901, the American League of Professional Baseball Clubs (AL), was founded as one of the Major League. From this time, there are 2 Professional Baseball clubs as the Major Team to this very day. Just as NL has 15 teams, so is the AL. The 15 Teams are:

Eastern Duvision-Baltimore Orioles, Boston Red Sox, New York Yankees, Tamoa Bay Rays, Toronto Blue Jays

Central Division- Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Indians, Detroit Tigers, Kansa’s City Royals, Minnesota Twins,

Western Division- Houston Astros, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Oakland Athletics, Seattle Mariners, Texas Rangers

In the history of the MBL, from 1900 and 1917 were the times when the players definitely became slow in scoring so this was called the dead ball era. However in 1920, the popularity of baseball spread out and the dead-ball era ended. Now the MBL has no stop in playing the game and is still gaining success.